(ME)dia Space

When I first began writing this weeks blog post about media space I didn’t really know how I was going to pick just one specific story of interest. I felt completely overwhelmed because I felt as though my experience in my own media space is just too broad.

I kept asking myself;
– Should I write about the good old MSN days where I first learnt what a wink was?
– Or about how competitive my brother and I would get playing Miniclip against strangers?
– Or my obsession with Club Penguin and making new friends with names like ‘Bieber5643,’ ‘Stud137,’ and ‘Princess24’?
– Or the time on Chatroulette where I thought my friends and I were were talking to the Jonas Brothers but then found out we’d been tricked and were talking to a 10 minute replayed video of them for a solid hour and a half?

These (somewhat cringeworthy) experiences make up the whole of my childhood media space and the huge old box of a computer where they came from. It’s crazy to think that I can now access these platforms (and thousands more) on my iPhone at anytime, anywhere. My phone is now the biggest gatekeeper to my media space. This gatekeeper became a lot more important to me when I travelled overseas for six months when I was eighteen. I’d never done an overseas trip without having my parents organise every minuscule detail, so to say I was anxious was a massive understatement. The thing that made me feel a whole lot more secure and safe was the fact that I had my phone with a workable sim card with me the whole time. I had all that I needed on this one device to stay connected with my family and friends constantly and to help me navigate the various unknown countries.

When I wanted to call my parents I used Skype.
When I wanted to make my friends jealous I used Instagram.
When I wanted to send videos (but mostly ugly selfies) I used Snapchat.
When I wanted to stay in contact with the countless people I met in Europe I used Facebook. All accessed through my iPhone.

Despite the fact that there was roughly 16,000kms distance between my family and friends in Australia and myself in Europe, physical barriers was a nonissue. My phone, holding the whole of my media space while I was travelling, involved all of the platforms that allowed me to have the safest, positive and most enjoyable trip possible as it allowed me to connect to everybody back home in Australia whenever I wished, no matter where I was (as long as I had wifi). My trip would not of been the same without it.

Until next time,

  • Georgie
Leave a Reply

